A Beautiful Start In Houston

DSC_0155.jpg
Houston truly has a beautiful ballpark and I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to their city. However, the most beautiful part of the entire trip had to be the one key piece missing from the Cubs past few seasons. Carlos Zambrano won his first opening day start! A truly wonderful beginning to our 2009 season and I was thrilled to be cheering from the first baseline.
DSC_0192.jpg
Here are few things I noticed from the first three games of the season:
Zambrano came ready to deal.
Our two LSU boys can hit. I predict a huge season from both Theriot and Fontenot. Every Tv broadcaster I have heard this offseason has torn Hendry a new one for replacing DeRosa with Aaron Miles. Were cubs fans and Piniella the only ones who knew that Fontenot was the man for the job? What a start for these two middle infielders and what an intriguing story of how these two winners continue to play side by side.
One game can change the the feelings towards Fukudome (at least for now). Wednesday he went 4 for 5 with a homer and a stolen base. I think this is a good sign that we will get the same Fukudome that began the season last year. I don’t think the question should be, “can he be a good hitter?” We should be asking, can he hit continue to produce after the all-star brake?
Milton Bradley can defend! Sitting down the first baseline, I was privileged to see Milton’s defense up close. The first play he made on Monday, he hustled to a drive down the line and made an amazing catch. The second play was towards center field an the ball ended coming out of his glove. I couldn’t even figure out how he got to that ball and fell to his knees almost making an impossible play. The point is, he can hustle and isn’t too shabby in the field.
Lee put on a batting practice show. I have know idea why his power numbers have dropped, because all but three hits that I saw, went into the left field seats.
I am very curious to see how Piniella uses the bullpen. Gregg seemed shaky even when he earned the save and why did Guzman close on Wednesday? There is no doubt they are young and talented, but I am curious to see how they will be used.
– There are some Houston fans who need to learn how to stay seated and watch. It’s hard to watch a game when everyone in front of you get up eight  times an inning. In the eighth inning half the crowd left like clockwork, no matter how close the game use. Sit down and enjoy a game!
DSC_0153.jpg
Overall, I really enjoyed my first opening day experience! Watch the Astros walk off on Tuesday was not ideal but it is always exciting watching such a close game. I’m ready for some more cubs baseball.

Leave a comment